Traffic Ticket Attorney in Nassau County, NY
Most traffic citations are issued by officers with the Nassau County Police Department or by New York State Troopers. Citations can also be issued by other police departments. Traffic infractions are usually not criminal charges, although more serious traffic violations can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. Certain types of traffic cases come with an automatic revocation of your driver’s license.
If you received a traffic ticket in Nassau County, NY, then contact the Law Office of Stephanie Selloni. We can help you resolve the ticket on the best possible terms. Don’t plead guilty and pay the ticket until you speak with an attorney. After you retain us to represent you, we set up a conference or meeting with the traffic prosecutor to discuss options to resolve the citation without a trial, including the possible reduction or dismissal of the ticket.
Whether you are concerned about keeping the points off of your driving record or keeping your insurance rates low, we can help. Our office is in Nassau County, and we provide a local and trusted approach to resolving your traffic tickets in Garden City, Mineola, Glen Cove, Hempstead, and Floral Park. Call us today at (516) 972-1212 to discuss your legal options with a qualified traffic ticket lawyer in Long Island.
Nassau County Traffic Violation Information Center
- Attorney for Speeding Tickets in Long Island
- Avoiding a Point Suspension
- Avoiding a Suspension for Three of More Traffic Convictions
- Misdemeanor Traffic Infractions in Nassau County, Long Island, NY
- Violations and Points
- Resources for Traffic Tickets in Nassau County, NY
- Finding a Traffic Ticket Lawyer for Nassau County, NY
If you received a speeding ticket in Nassau County, Long Island, New York, then call us. If you plead guilty by paying the ticket, then serious consequences can occur, including a suspension or revocation for points or because you accumulated a certain number of infractions within a certain time period.
|1180(b),(d)||Speeding 1 – 10 mph||$45 – $150||3|
|1180(b),(d)||Speeding 11 – 20 mph||$90 – $300||4|
|1180(b),(d)||Speeding 21 – 30 mph||$90 – $300||6|
|1180(b),(d)||Speeding 31 – 40 mph||$180 – $600||8|
|1180(b),(d)||Over 40 mph||$180 – $600||11|
|1180(c)||Speeding in school zone 1–10 mph||$90 – $300||3|
|1180(c)||Speeding in school zone 11–20 mph||$180 – $600||4|
|1180(c)||Speeding in school zone 21–30 mph||$180 – $600||6|
|1180(c)||Speeding in school zone 31–40 mph||$360 – $1,200||8|
|1180(c)||Speeding in school zone Over 40 mph||$360 – $1,200||11|
|1180||Failure to reduce speed||$45 – $150||3|
|1180(f)||Speeding in work zone||Speeding Fines Doubled||3, 4, 6, 8, 11|
A speeding ticket in New York can not only result in possible fines, but could also affect a driver’s insurance rates. It is important to understand that with the help of an attorney, an alleged offender may not have to appear in court to challenge a speeding ticket.
The number of points that a speeding violation may add to your driving record depends on how many alleged mile per hour you were over the posted speed limit:
- 1 to 10 mph — 3 points
- 11 to 20 mph — 4 points
- 21 to 30 mph — 6 points
- 31 to 40 mph — 8 points
- More than 40 mph — 11 points
The New York State (NYS) Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) monitors a point system that helps it identify drivers who commit several traffic violations during specific periods of time. If the driver accumulates a certain number of points for violations that occurred during a certain time period then the driver’s license can be suspended or revoke.
If you accumulate 11 points or more for violations that occurred during a 18 month period then you will receive notification from the DMV that your driver’s license will be automatically suspended.
If you accumulate more than 5 points (measured by whether the violations occurred within a 18 month period, regardless of when the conviction occurred) then the New York State (NYS) Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will impose a driver assessment fee. In addition to the driver assessment fee, other fines and surcharges will be imposed by the court. If you do not pay the assessment fee then your driver license can be suspended.
The amount that you must pay for the assessment depends on the number of points accumulated. For 6 points accumulated within the 18 month period, the assessment fee is $300 ($100 per year for 3 years). For every additional point, the assessment fee is increased by $75 ($25 per year for three years).
Accumulating a certain number of points for violations that occurred during a particular time period is not the only reason a driver’s license can be suspended or revoke. For instance, the DMV in the State of New York must revoke your driver’s license if you are convicted of three speeding violations within an 18 month period, regardless of the number of points you have accumulated.
The accumulation of convictions includes both speeding tickets and misdemeanor traffic convictions (or a combination of each). Three convictions for violations that occurred within a 18 month period will result in a suspension of your driving privileges.
Misdemeanor Traffic Infractions can include any of the following:
- VTL 600-2a Leaving the scene of an accident with personal Injury
- VTL 375-I Inadequate Brakes
- VTL 375-1 Inadequate Trailer Brakes
- VTL 1212 Reckless Driving
- VTL 1182 Unauthorized speed contest / Racing
- VTL 340-(a) Failure to surrender license/registration/plates after revocation under article
- VTL 511.2 (a) Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 2nd Degree
- VTL 511.1(a) Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 3rd degree
- VTL 319-2 Produced Invalid Insurance ID card
- VTL 306-e Fictitious Inspection Certificate
The DMV will imposed the following points for each violation:
- Inadequate brakes (vehicle of an employer): 2
- Passing improperly – 3 Changing lanes unsafely: 3
- Driving to the left of center: 3
- Driving in the wrong direction: 3
- Failed to obey a traffic signal: 3
- Failed to obey a stop sign: 3
- Failed to obey a Yield sign: 3
- Failed to yield the right-of-way: 3
- Railroad crossing violation: 3
- Left the scene of an accident that includes property damage or the injury of a domestic animal: 3
- Passenger safety violation, including seat belt and child safety seat violations for passengers under the age of 16: 3
- Following too closely: 4
- Inadequate brakes: 4
- Reckless driving: 5
- Failed to stop for a school bus: 5
- Improper cell phone use: 5
- Use of portable electronic device (“texting”): 5
- Most other moving violations: 2
The Nassau County Traffic and Parking Violations Agency is responsible for the adjudication of traffic and parking violations in Nassau County, New York. Read more about entering a guilty plea to a traffic violation from the TPVA or entering a not guilty plea.Nassau County Traffic and Parking Violations Agency (TPVA)
16 Cooper Street, Hempstead, NY 11550-4063
Main Phone Number: 516-572-2700
Call us at (516) 972-1212 to find out how we can help you with your traffic ticket in Long Island or Nassau County. Stephanie Selloni is experienced in dealing with traffic violations in Garden City, Floral Park, Glen Cove, Hempstead, Mineola,Suffoulk County, and the surrounding areas.